unipopla.blogg.se

Belgian-made 7mm lefaucheux revolver
Belgian-made 7mm lefaucheux revolver






  1. #BELGIAN MADE 7MM LEFAUCHEUX REVOLVER SERIAL NUMBER#
  2. #BELGIAN MADE 7MM LEFAUCHEUX REVOLVER CODE#

That bullet might do the trick for the stovepipe. This would also help make the adaptor function in other12mm revolvers because the clearances are different from gun to gun. As I experiment with shorter caps I'd like to bring down the length of the nipple if possible. Another concern is flashover from one cap to the next, though this may be less of a problem as long as I have caps which are a good fit. The safety issue with the caps sticking out is noted. There was also a 12mm short like the example in your picture which was popular. The stovepipe length is closer to the length of some French made ammo in my collection.

#BELGIAN MADE 7MM LEFAUCHEUX REVOLVER SERIAL NUMBER#

From the serial number range, it's more likely I have one sold to for use in the American Civil War of 1861-65. I also have a French M1854 made in Paris but unfortunately it's not one of those made for the French Navy. Wish me luck.īallistics in Scotland: The revolver I used for testing is a high quality copy of the French Lefaucheux made in Spain.

#BELGIAN MADE 7MM LEFAUCHEUX REVOLVER CODE#

For safety reasons, I'll read sections the tax code before I go shooting. I had not thought about the hazards of laughing so hard I could not breathe because of the poor performance of 7mm pinfire. Jugulater: I greatly appreciate the warning. On the continent of Europe the revolver was looked on as a close-range emergency measure. As you will see, it is quite a bit shorter than your adapter. This is a picture I took of the cartridge, certified by the owners, in the Musée de la Marine in Paris. 450-222-heel mould which might suit if the heel diameter is right. I don't believe any pinfire had a stepped chamber, so if you want to use an elongated bullet, a heel it must have. If you have a habit of laying a pistol down sharply on the table, you soon won't have. The sight of those percussion caps sticking out, if you make more of them, should remind us that any pinfire revolver needs handling with care. Even if it is a private-purchase or Belgian one, it is about as good as pinfire revolvers get.įortunately the pin slot is big enough to admit a good-sized stovepipe. It wouldn't, in this case, be cheap in its country of origin, where they are keenly collected, and quite a bit rarer than the 1873 centrefire. (The civilian Lefaucheux were usually joined together at the lower front of the frame.) If so it should have two single-letter round cartouches on the left side of the barrel, an anchor on the buttcap, and in the same place, if it reached a warship, its rack number on the ship. That is an extremely nice Lefaucheux, and I can see no difference from the French 1858 naval revolver.








Belgian-made 7mm lefaucheux revolver